Local Community Development Committee for South Cork

The table below shows the membership of the new Local Community Development Committee for South Cork.

The Local Government Reform Act 2014 (the same legislation that abolished Town Councils) provided for the establishment of Local Community Development Committees (LCDCs) in each local authority area.  The stated purpose of LCDCs is to enhance strategic planning for the local authority area and to co-ordinate local and community development activity.  LCDCs will also be administering the very valuable European LEADER funding.

Because County Cork is so large, Cork County Council has been permitted to set up 3 LCDCs.  That which is relevant to us in Carrigaline-Ballincollig is the South Cork LCDC.  During this 5-year term, this LCDC will:

  • prepare the community elements of a 6-year Local Economic and Community Plan (the Plan);
  • coordinate, manage and oversee the implementation of local and community development programmes as part of implementing the Plan, and
  • coordinate local and community development activity generally within the operational area of the LCDC.

Membership of South Cork LCDC:

Sector Representation   South
Local Government Elected Members






1.Cathal Rasmussen
2. Michael Hegarty
3. Ger Keohane
4. Marcia D’Alton

1.Divisional Manager
Declan Daly

2. Head of LEO
Sean O’Sullivan

State Agencies     1. ETB
John Fitzgibbons

2. DSP
Maria Hurley

3. Udaras na Gaeltachta
Donal O’Liathain

Total Public Sector   9No  
Local & Community Development   3No 1. SECAD
Ryan Howard

2. West Cork Dev Partnership
Ian Dempsey

3. Avondhu Blackwater
Sean Hegarty

Social, Economic & Community Interests
  • Community & Voluntary
  • Social Inclusion
  • Environment
  • Business
  • Agriculture
  • Civic Society.
Therese (Barrett) Bourke 

Sean O’Riordan

Youth (Youthwork Ireland)
Brian Williams

Environment (National Pillar)
Mary O’Leary

Cork Chamber
Conor Healy (Interim)

Jimmy Hosford

      Civic Society
Michael Delaney
Total Private Sector     10 no.
Overall Total     19no.